Is it normal or am I imagining this? It’s about people, sometimes the ones closest to you,who take advantage of your ‘niceness’, thinking that it’s ok to step over the boundary that is already there,though invisible , because it’s meant to be understood.

If you have a problem, why make it mine? I didn’t ask for this! Yet you deem it’s acceptable for you to expect me to agree to whatever it is you want, and when I so much as show a trace of disapproval, you cease to be the nice person you are, because you didn’t get your way.

Why don’t you deal with your personal issues on your territory instead of encroaching on mine? It’s a perfect example of manipulation, when you blame me for my reaction to your toxic behaviour, but never discuss your disrespect that triggered me in the first place.

First, you make your move in rather a nice way, very sweet and polite, followed by some emotional tears. I genuinely want to help, of course I do, but I made a big mistake. I responded rather quickly. I should have thought it over. I shouldn’t have given in so easily. At that moment, yes, I wanted to help, based on the reasons you gave. You said you would stay within the boundaries and would not give me cause for concern.

It came as no surprise when you did cross the line. You are such, that you would break all barriers because you saw something that no one else could see, and in your mind’s eye of reasoning it was the right step to take. I do not condemn you for who you are, or what you did because that’s what it is. You are who you are as created. And it’s not a bad thing.

It only gets bad when you do what you deem fit by going against my better judgment. And it’s not the first time. By and by you will understand and accept me, and even if you don’t, it’s ok. We are all wired differently, and that’s what makes each one of us so unique.

I may have come across as harsh, even cruel, but that’s the way it is and will be. I am not about to give up my peace of mind, which I have arrived at after so many years, to allow it to be disturbed by all and sundry. It’s too late for that. I have evolved. My mental state needs to be in a meditative mode. Peace is something so hard to find, and when I found it, I held onto it.

With age comes wisdom, they say, but I say age emboldens one. You are vocal about stuff that once you hesitated to talk about . You stand your ground when once before you gave in, you defend your own species because you felt so wronged in so many ways, your core values are strengthened and you fight for what’s just. You never know how strong you are, until you are challenged, until you are faced with situations ,until being strong is the only choice you have.

Life is beautiful, and even more beautiful when we live and let live. The cardinal rule is to learn to live side by side without treading on each other’s toes, respecting one another’s sacred space. Mutual respect without forcing the other to change or accept something you think is right, paves the path for trust and love. You don’t have to fight for a place in somebody’s life. If someone values you, they will keep a place for you in their heart.

Easily said than done, right? In actuality, it is not easy, but not impossible either!